This topic has 3 replies, 4 voices, and was last updated 5 years, 5 months ago by Tim Wainwright Fire Support NSW.

• Author
       Frank Gasparre
      Participant

Hi all
      Am new to the forum, but I am a contractor working in the Sydney region with a background in public sector management and also training.

I would love to approach the NSW Fire Brigades and RFS to work with them to come up with some form of accreditation and training to allow contractors to carry out pile burns on land in NSW for hazard reduction purposes.

With the right sort of framework in place it would reduce pressure on the RFS and NSW Fire Brigades with unburnt piles everywhere, and also provide contractors with an important tool for installing and managing asset protection zones in environmentally sensitive ways. Are there any interested professionals in joining together to seek a meeting to progress this?

Frank

Greg Banks

Hi Frank
      There is no formal training required for members of the public/contractors etc. in undertaking pile burns however the NSW RFS recommends they are undertaken according to the NSW RFS Standards for Pile Burning.

It is important to have the right equipment (handtools, water backpacks) and enough personnel on hand to assist, and of course assessment of the weather conditions to maximise safety of the burn. Those proposing to undertake pile burns should also ensure that their insurance covers liability should things go wrong.

If you want to do this type of work it would be a good idea to approach your local Fire & Rescue or RFS office about their requirements for contractors proposing to do pile burns on both public and private lands.

Are there any other contractors or others who have had experience in liaising with Fire & Rescue or the RFS about training for people wanting to carry out their own pile burns? Any advice for Frank would be welcome.

Greg

Jennie Cramp
      Participant

Hi Frank,